Wednesday, August 21, 2013

First Day Of School

Nia officially started kindergarten this week! She was so excited, and has been completely brave and loves it. We live just a few blocks away from her school so we've been walking there. Here she is on the first day. They all line up in front of the door and walk in when the bell rings. It was very crowded and hectic!

If you can see through these indecently clothed women (do they realize how cheap they look?) you will see Nia standing in line. 
I already (Wednesday) had a terrible mom moment. It started this morning. I walked her to school with babes in tow in the stroller, and got there right at 8:30, so i sent her to the line, and watched her walk in, then turned around and headed home. I was talking to my sister on the phone later that morning and saw it was 11 already, I said "oh,  i'd better get going and get ready to get Nia", who was released at 11:30. While talking to her I noticed an unknown number was calling, so I ignored it. When I hang up I saw I had 5 missed calls and 2 voice mails! My friend, and a fellow mom had called a few times as well as the school. On Wednesdays kindergartners are released early, at 10:50! AHH! I had missed the announcement I guess, because I got there late and left right away. My neighbor and a church member had tried to just bring her home for me, but I only had my parents and mike and I signed up to pick her up, so they wouldn't allow her. Well, long story short I finally made it to pick her up, sitting in the office with two other boys whose parents didn't hear the early release. AHH, I felt so bad! I am glad that I have some fellow moms keeping an eye out for me tho. :) Needless to say, they have been added to my pick-up list. 
The funny thing is, I had been feeling bad/sad/guilty because I didn't give her a hug and kiss when i dropped her off because we were in such a rush. Poor little Nia. She seemed fine. She just asked me "why didn't you pick me up?" 
I am a first-time school parent. How strange!

5 comments:

Unknown said...

Kory got on the wrong bus coming home his first day. Two hrs later he finally gets home. Cant believe they didnt send home a note with Nia so youd know the time change.

Heather Lloyd said...

So nice to see a new blog post :) Nia looks so cute- I can't believe she's old enough for school!

Kaylene said...

Oopsy! Sorry to be so talkative on the phone! I'm glad Nia wasn't traumatized. What a big girl! It's nice you're so close to the school and can just walk. Now you'll be sure to know what time she gets out! :) She looks so cute.

Michelle C said...

Thank you so much for coming to my blog again Em!! It's so nice to read your comments and to know that I'm posting for someone! (:

Nia is so grown up, I can't believe these are our babies that used to play together!!! Seems like a lifetime ago! (: Totally sounds like something I would do with the pick up thing. Why do they have to make it all complicated with different times they're released. So easy to get confused!!

Brockton and Mallory said...

I laughed when I read this story Emm! I'm so glad they were watching over her and I hope she wasn't scared! I can't believe Nia is in school now...that is so crazy!